Quotes by Wayne Gretzky, Canadian Hockey Player

Wayne Gretzky is famous for being one of the greatest ice hockey players of all time. He is referred to as “The Great One” and holds numerous records including the most goals, assists, and points in NHL history. He is widely regarded as the greatest player in the sport’s history.

Some of Wayne Gretzky’s greatest achievements are:

  • Holds the NHL record for most goals (894), assists (1,963), and points (2,857) in a career
  • Won four Stanley Cups with the Edmonton Oilers
  • Named the NHL’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) nine times
  • Named to the NHL’s First All-Star Team 10 times
  • Inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1999 in his first year of eligibility
  • Named one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players in 2017.

 


Quotes by Wayne Gretzky

  • Growing up, I was always the small guy.
  • You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.
  • Most people marry their mother. I married my father.
  • I skate to where the puck is going to be, not where it has been.
  • Ninety percent of hockey is mental and the other half is physical.
  • It’s an honour and a thrill and a privilege just to play in the NHL.
  • My kids are no different than anyone else’s – they tend to disagree with everything I say!
  • The only way a kid is going to practice is if it’s total fun for him… and it was for me.
  • And people who know me would tell you that away from hockey I’m really not that competitive.
  • The highest compliment that you can pay me is to say that I work hard every day, that I never dog it.
  • A good hockey player plays where the puck is. A great hockey player plays where the puck is going to be.
  • The biggest difference between L.A. and Edmonton was that instead of people looking at me I was looking at them.
  • I get a feeling about where a teammate is going to be. A lot of times, I can turn and pass without even looking.
  • Procrastination is one of the most common and deadliest of diseases and its toll on success and happiness is heavy.
  • I’m very proud of our NHL players. I think they all handle themselves extremely well and they all work really hard.
  • When I was 5 and playing against 11-year-olds, who were bigger, stronger, faster, I just had to figure out a way to play with them.
  • I wasn’t naturally gifted in terms of size and speed; everything I did in hockey I worked for, and that’s the way I’ll be as a coach.
  • Hockey is a unique sport in the sense that you need each and every guy helping each other and pulling in the same direction to be successful.
  • I couldn’t beat people with my strength; I don’t have a hard shot; I’m not the quickest skater in the league. My eyes and my mind have to do most of the work.
  • By no means could I play at the level of these kids who play in the NHL now but as 50-year-olds go, I feel really good and I feel blessed that I’m still healthy.