Quotes by Dave Chappelle, American Comedian

Dave Chappelle began his career as a stand-up comedian in the early 1990s, performing at comedy clubs and colleges across the United States. He quickly gained a reputation for his sharp wit and his ability to tackle difficult and controversial subjects with honesty and humor.

He success was not without any struggles. One of the biggest struggles that Chappelle has faced in his career was his decision to walk away from the hugely successful “Chappelle’s Show” in 2005. Despite the show’s popularity and bringing in millions of dollars, Chappelle abruptly left the show during production of its third season He claimed creative differences and a desire to take a break from the demanding schedule.

That decision resulted in Chappelle being sued by the show’s producers for breach of contract. However, Chappelle ultimately emerged from the experience stronger and more focused on his craft, and he has continued to be a successful and respected performer in the years since.


Quotes from Dave Chappelle

  • I love Ohio.
  • I love my jokes.
  • I’m an introspective dude.
  • I enjoy my own thoughts sometimes.
  • My generation is under-entertained.
  • America, I appreciate you liking me.
  • I love being famous – it’s phenomenal.
  • I don’t care if I ever work in TV again.
  • Comedy is a very approval-oriented field.
  • I got a lot of positive people around me.
  • The higher up I went, the less happy I was.
  • You got to be careful of the company you keep.
  • The language you are about to hear… is disturbing.
  • There’s something about doing stand-up that’s cathartic.
  • The worst thing to call somebody is crazy. It’s dismissive.
  • I think extreme sports are really good for relieving stress.
  • Stand-up is the kind of gig that’ll show you where you’re at.
  • The only thing harder than leaving show business is coming back.
  • Being famous is great, it’s not like bad or horrible or anything.
  • Fame for me is like a place, a country I’m taking a tour through.